Quilt Show 2014

DSCN2800I snuck away last Friday to check out the Cobblestone Quilters Guild Quilt Show. This quilt above was the one on the flyer advertising the quilt show and is why I decided to go and check it out. This quilt is titled A Quilters view of Charleston. This landscape quilt was made by Lynn Gettelfinger. It was amazing to see in person.

 

DSCN2797This was my favorite quilt. It is the one I could see throwing on my bed and dragging around the house cuddling up with. It looked so cozy and pretty with all of the pretty plaid fabric. This one is titled “Hours of Waiting” Made by Enid Edgeworth. Here are some photos for a closer look.

Β 

DSCN2787

DSCN2786

I need to make a bear paw quilt. This one took the quilter from 2008 to 2013 and she mostly stitched it by hand in Hospital waiting rooms. Love it, very inspiring. Here are some more quilts that caught my eye as I walked around aisles and aisles of hanging quilts.

DSCN2775“Stars by Magic” made by Freida Kinard

 

DSCN2777“Stars Over Fort Sumter” made by Mary Patterson

 

DSCN2780“Decade Plus” made by Nancy Coleman

 

DSCN2782“Quilt of Many Scraps” made by Linda Knutson

 

DSCN2790“Clowns for Oscar” made by Katherine Abrams

 

DSCN2792“Redwork in Brown” made by Ginnie Lebosse

 

DSCN2795“Mandy’s Surprise” made by Janica Felsher

 

DSCN2798“The Pink Tree” made by Keri Davidson

 

DSCN2802“Rocky in the Garden” made by Kathy Aparicio

 

DSCN2805“Mostly Charleston Calico” made by Christine Taylor

 

DSCN2807“Paradise Island” made by Brenda Rakowski

 

DSCN2810“Organized Chaos” made by Libby Law

 

DSCN2813“Celebrate” made by Susan Clark

 

DSCN2816“Le Jardin” made by Kathryn Masuga

 

DSCN2818“Spooky Boo” made by Mary Pease

This last one I was taking a picture of and then someone else wanted to take a photo and told her friend to stand in front of it. I jokingly said put your finger out and point at it so it looks like you made it. Then the lady said I did make it. We laughed. I told her she did a great job and should be proud. Then I forgot to take a picture of Mary in front of her quilt. After getting my fill of seeing all the wonderful quilts I then started exploring all the venders and picked up some quilty loot.

 

DSCN2882On the far left is a fabric panel it has 6 pictures total: Flamingo, crab, dolphin, 2 turtles and a pelican. I love fabric panels. On the top is a bundle of precut wool squares and a half yard of flannel plaid. Also a cute fall table topper or wall hanging pattern “Crows & Pumpkins”. Bottom center one yard fabric of the big flower print. In the center is a Spell it with fabric pattern book showing how to piece out the alphabet by Moda. The rest are fat quarters most of them $1 a piece. Lovely hall of goodies. I could have went crazy but I was trying to hold back. Overall so glad I was able to go and experience the quilt show. I will keep a look out for more crafty things to attend that might be driving distance.

Β 

6 comments on “Quilt Show 2014

  1. nsturgill says:

    Thanks for sharing

  2. Thanks for sharing the great quilt pictures. I appreciate you finding and following my blog. I had seen the fabric from once of those quilts recently at our guild’s recent retreat. The quilt called Paradise Island was made from a panel. One of my guild members used that same panel to make a one block wonder. πŸ™‚ As soon as I saw it, I recognized it. πŸ™‚

  3. frilka says:

    Thanks for sharing :), my favourite ones: pink tree and spooky boo! πŸ™‚

  4. zippyquilts says:

    Thanks for the pix from the show; it’s nice to see it without making the trip.

  5. Quite an amazing variety. it must have been fun to see all of these quilts.

Leave a Reply

