English Paper Piecing

DSCN2485I have been working on my 6 point star quilt blocks using the English Paper Piecing method. Slow and steady as she goes. I am trying to decide if once I get a handful more blocks completed if I should start sewing them together as I go along. I love how this is looking so far. I am going to link up with the In Hand EPP Link party.

 

rollerrentalRemember these babies. I was a kid in the 80’s and spent a lot of time with my girlfriends  in a pair of these and went to more roller rink birthday parties than I can remember.

 

DSCN2525 windows phoneChloe turns 5 in March and one of the things she has asked for her birthday is a pair of roller skates. She had never worn skates before. So I decided its time to bring her to the world of roller skating and found a rink in our town. Today was the second time we went and she is doing great. She falls a lot but laughs thru it and gets right back up.

 

DSCN2513Refueling with some nachos. I was surprised at how busy this place is.  Then after thinking about it this is a great activity to bring the kids. It cost less than going to the movies and you can stay as long as you like. It is great exercise by getting the kids and your self off the couch or your computer chair. I think this will be a regular fun activity for us to share together until she gets to old and doesn’t want her dorky  Mom embarrassing her when she is hanging with her friends. Too bad, I am going to be the Mom that is there and sure enough if they start blaring the YMCA song I will be out on the floor skating around doing the arm motions.

 

In Hand EPP Link Party

in hand epp link party

14 comments on “English Paper Piecing

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    Your 6 pointed stars are charming. I love that pattern and have had it in my pattern note book for years but have not taken the time to make it. Thanks for the link.

  2. Karin says:

    That looks very lovely…love the choice of colours. How big are they? They look very tempting (no, not another project!)
    I went ice skating with my kids when they were young…so much fun, but can be a tad embarrassing for the kids when one is transported back to childhood:)

    • Tami says:

      Thank you for your compliments and visiting my blog. I am using a 2 inch diamond template and my blocks are turning out at 7 inches. I think I cut a few years off my time making this by going with the 2″ instead of the 1″. Happy Stitching.

  3. Hydeeann says:

    Your stars are so pretty in those florals! Is it all one line or mix and match? They are looking lovely! I wish mine had been bigger to take less time, but I try not to think about that.

    • Tami says:

      Thank you. For fabric I started with some sweetshop calico candies and also some fabric from Atsuko Matsuyama. I plan to just add fabric here and there as I find some that goes with the others. I am a sucker for pretty floral prints.

  4. wombatquilts says:

    Those epp blocks are so darling

  5. Meg says:

    These are so beautiful!

  6. rosa says:

    Your stars are gorgeous and love your fabrics combo!

  7. I definitely remember those roller skating days. I didn’t know there were any roller skating rinks left. haha
    I love your star blocks. It will be a beautiful quilt when it’s done. Don’t let it become another 10 year UFO.

  8. Kristin says:

    Love your color story for the stars. I too spent much time skating and my daughter started at 4 and went on to ice skate until she was 18. Many a hand stitching was done at that ice rink! : )

    • Tami says:

      Thank you Kristin for stopping by. I checked out your clamshell project and love it. I love how they look but afraid to tackle so many curved lines. Thanks for sharing your mother daughter story. It warms my heart to hear it. I am looking forward to all the memories my daughter and I will have together. I was just thinking about how when she starts soccer this year how I should bring my hand stitching for all the down time.

  9. they are so pretty. I would love to be able to quilt like that.

  10. Liz says:

    Lovely looking hexies! I’m doing some too, but need some motivation 🙂

  11. Jessie Aller says:

    Love those stars. 6-pointed star has to be one of my favorite EPP designs. My 5year old girl has been talking about ice skating a lot recently, so soon that could become my rink-side activity, too!

Leave a Reply

