Vintage Schnibbles Hat Trick

DSCN8997

I completed the top of my Schnibbles “Hat Trick” pattern. Just in time for the vintage schnibbles parade at the beginning of next month at Sherri’s blog A Quilting Life or at Sinta’s blog Pink Pincushion.

DSCN7862Here is the fabric I started with. I did not end up using the little pink hearts print.

DSCN8004I realize that I could have done this a lot easier if I had cut fabric into strips and made the 9 patch blocks. At the time I was wanting to enjoy the process of cutting up the little squares and sewing them together.

DSCN8007It took a long time to get those mini 9 patch blocks sewn up. Here is the color combos I came up with.

DSCN8989I decided to put the blocks with the brown in the center of each 5 block combo. I wanted to balance it a little and planned to use the brown fabric for my inside border.

DSCN8991For the outside border I sewed together 2 1/2 inch wide strips by 5 inches long. Then I cut this in half for both my top and bottom outside border.

DSCN8997It turned out light bright and perfect for a Spring/Summer table topper. I still need to go thru my stash and see what I will put on the back and also choose a binding fabric. Overall I am happy with how it turned out and am anxious to see what fabric choices others have made in the group. I wonder what Vintage Schnibble pattern will be chosen for May. Tootles.

3 comments on “Vintage Schnibbles Hat Trick

  1. ashley828 says:

    That is SO cute!!!

  2. ashley828 says:

    That is SO cute!!

  3. Linda says:

    Great choice on the brown fabric! It took me a long time to sew my nine patches together too. 😉 I like your helper!

Leave a Reply

